UNESCO/Keizo Obuchi research fellowships
next deadline: 2013-08-30

UNESCO invites young post-graduate researchers in developing countries with a Master’s degree or equivalent, to apply for fellowships. This Research Fellowship Programme is financed by Japan through funds-in-trust dedicated to the development of human resources.
The programme, named after the late Japanese Prime Minister Keizo Obuchi, offers a total of 20 fellowships to researchers.
A maximum amount between US$ 6,000 – 10,000 will be awarded to the two candidates.

The aim is to impact on capacity building and research activities in one of four fields:

  • Environment, with an emphasis on Water Sciences, Water Issues, Climate Change, Engineering Capacity Building in the Developing World;
  • Intercultural dialogue;
  • Information and communication technologies;
  • Peaceful conflict resolution.


  • Post graduate researchers, no older than 40 years, can apply through their country’s National Commission.
  • Priority will be given to women, candidates from the least developed countries and African researchers.
  • Each Member State may nominate a maximum of two candidates. No applications will be considered from individuals.

    The Member States of UNESCO who are eligible to apply are:

  • Africa – 46 Member States
  • Arab States – 12 Member States
  • Asia and The Pacific – 39 Member States
  • Latin America and the Caribbean – 29 Member States
  • Europe – 13 Member States
  • Tokelau – 1 Associate Member State
    NB: the former 15 EU Member States are not eligible to apply.

    All applications must be sent to the National Commission for UNESCO of the country of origin of the candidate that will then decide whether they will submit the application to UNESCO.

    Deadline: 30 August 2013

    Application form, eligible countries and further information:
    National Directory of Unesco national commissions:

> Key documents

> Contacts